WAFDO LogoWAFDO Scholarships

home | news | events | policy | membership | photo album | links


The highest award given by the Western Association of Food and Drug Officials is the Orlen J. Wiemann Award.  It is named after the first recipient of the award.

Orlen J. Wiemann was born in Arlington, Minnesota on December 30, 1916 and was educated in Arlington public schools.  He obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in biology and chemistry from Hamline University, St. Paul, Minnesota in 1937, and a Masters degree from the University of Minnesota in 1948.

In January 1942, Orlen began service with the United States Army Medical Corps, being commissioned a 2nd lieutenant in August of that year.  He served with hospital units overseas from October of 1942 until November 1945, and was released from the service in March 1946 as a 1st lieutenant.

He was employed by the City/County Health Department in Eau Claire, Wisconsin from the period of June 1946 until March 1949, as a sanitarian.  During the course of employment, Orlen managed to attend the University of Minnesota and obtain a graduate degree in public health.

He terminated his employment with the Eau Claire Health Department in March 1949, turned westward and set his sights on the great state of Colorado.

Orlen joined the Milk, Food, and Drug Section of the Colorado Department of Health in March 1949 as a sanitarian.  In July of 1952, Orlen’s outstanding capabilities were recognized and he was named to head the Milk, Food, and Drug Section of the Colorado Department of Health, a position that he held until he retired in May of 1979.  During his tenure, Orlen worked tirelessly to update consumer protection programs within Colorado.

During his career, Orlen was an active participant in both the Association of Food and Drug Officials (AFDO) and the Western Association of Food and Drug Officials (WAFDO).  Orlen served on numerous AFDO committees; was the 1967 AFDO president, received the Harvey W. Wiley Award in 1972; and served as the Editor of the AFDO Journal from 1970 until 1987.  Orlen received the AFDO Distinguished Service Award.

Throughout his career, Orlen was a constant supporter of WAFDO and one of the individuals who kept the Association together during times when travel and communication capabilities were primitive compared to today.  Orlen is one of the few individuals to have served twice as the Association’s president.

In 1985, WAFDO president George White convinced the Association that it would be appropriate to recognize one of their own each year.  The Orlen J. Wiemann Award was created and presented to Orlen in 1985 in Jackson Hole Wyoming. The subsequent recipients of the award are listed below:

  • 1986 - Ken Caryl of Oregon. 
  • 1987 - Fred Lofsvold of the Food and Drug Administration in Denver. 
  • 1989 - Chambers Bryson of California. 
  • 1990 - John Baghott of Colorado.
  • 1991 - James Wommack of Washington. 
  • 1992 - Jim Swanson of the Food and Drug Administration in Seattle. 
  • 1994 - Allan Shurr of the Food and Drug Administration in Seattle. 
  • 1995 - Barry Morgan of Vancouver, British Columbia. 
  • 1996 - Frank Mosebar of California. 
  • 1997 - James Black of Oregon. 
  • 1998 - Stewart Richardson of California. 
  • 1999 - Tom Messenger of Colorado and Jos Campioni of Vancouver British Columbia.
  • 2000 - Maurice Tamura of Hawaii. 
  • 2001 - Tom Vogel DFA, California. 
  • 2002 - Jim Waddel of California.
  • 2003 - Michael Govro, Oregon.
  • 2004 - Linda Condon, Washington State. 
  • 2005 - Barbara Cassens of FDA, California. 
  • 2006 - Carolyn Swanson of FDA, Washington State. 
  • 2007 - Barbara Hruska, Colorado. 
  • 2008 - Janet McDonald of FDA, California. 
  • 2009 - Pat Kennelly, California 
  • 2010 - Ellen Laymon of FDA, Oregon
  • 2011 - Susan Parachini, Colorado
  • 2012 - Benson Yee, California
  • 2013 - Ballard Graham, Georgia

Horizontal Rule

For More Information Contact:

Kimberly Stryker
Program Manager
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
555 Cordova Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
(907) 269-7583
FAX (907) 269-7510

top of page

home | news | events | policy | membership | photo album | links